The Genetic Lottery.. PSHAH!

It’s All in the Journey

The more I look around-especially after the State Fair last week- the more I am convinced, some people can eat whatever they want. Let’s call them lucky…. OR Freaks of nature! I’ve heard interviews of Super Models like Elle McPherson stating they pretty much eat what ever they want and only worry about things that may “bloat” them right before a shoot, like Pizza. WHAT?! Sometimes it feels like when I LOOK at pizza, I get bloated!

Along this journey, I have determined that I CAN NOT eat what ever I want. I need to be vigilant as to what goes into my mouth at all times. I’m not saying I don’t have a taboo item every once in a while, but I know my limits!

This will HAVE to be my lifestyle for the remainder of my days on this planet. No more excuses. No more killing myself after I get there! I expect to continue to work out to maintain my healthfulness, not to lose weight!

So, I am okay that I didn’t win the genetic lottery. That’d be boring, right?!

For Me, it’s All or Nothing

On the other side of the coin, I also observed at the fair, multiple people who clearly are eating their way into an early grave. It makes me so so sad and so so glad at the same time I didn’t end up there! I wish I could help everyone feel better, because I KNOW being even close to that large, does NOT feel good.

While I did enjoy some of the fair food, I enjoyed one or two bites of those things that I used to have my own serving of! I had two smaller cheese curds instead of a whole tray, I had A bite of a Sweet Martha’s cookie. I thoroughly enjoyed my very large pickle on a stick! Afterward, my tummy wasn’t as excited as I was to eat the pickle, but I had something on a stick that I didn’t feel guilty about! LOVED THAT!

I am an all or nothing girl… I’m not the “eat it and feel guilty about it” girl. I want a clear conscience. I want to be healthy.

My Next Running Goal

I have been training for a 10K and can’t believe I am running 4.3 miles now! I remember back to when I first started Couch to 5K and could literally barely run the 60 seconds during that first week. Now I’m running up to 30 minutes at a time! D@&*! It feels good to be a gangsta ;) (Office Space reference for my movie buff friends!) On my off days, I’m doing the elliptical at the gym and strength training. So those arms are getting there! More pics after my race on Saturday.

New and Delicious Foods!

These are not new :) But they are new to me! and I am loving them! I made this recipe the other day and not only did I enjoy them, but my kids did too! They are delicious and packed with tons of protein.

http://www.fitfoodiefinds.com/2012/08/power-puff-balls.html

Image

There are only 5 ingredients to these and most of them can be found in either Trader Joes (TJ) or a local Co-op. I ended up purchasing the millet puffs on Amazon. But the chia seeds and agave can be found at TJ.

I also used the Old Home Natural Peanut Butter. NO SUGAR! and the flavor is amazing!

Lara Bar Options

Haven’t tried these yet, but they are on my list next! My friend Allison sent me the link and makes them for her family. They all love them as well.

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/03/10/thin-mint-brownies/ Image

These are supposed to taste very similar to the Lara Bars. Which, on a side bar- if you want to buy them, I found them cheapest at Trader Joes.

Here are more Lara Bar style recipes as well:

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/chocolate-covered-recipes/fudge-baby-mania/

Let me know if you have a favorite bar or recipe you enjoy. I love trying new healthy foods!

What I’m Eating These Days

I’ve decided to stop doing the weight loss program I was on because of the limitations to exercise. And guess what? I’m still losing weight! It’s a struggle now to make sure I’m eating enough calories of the healthier foods, but I’m still losing! It feels good to feel strong too. I didn’t want to stop exercising or back off, so I decided to eat healthfully and continue working out. I’m also continuing the eating every couple of hours , small meals. Doesn’t spike blood sugars and you don’t overeat.

Two separate trainers have each told me I need to consume 1 gram of protein per 1 pound that I weigh. Still working on that one! But I do notice better definition in my muscles now that I am paying more attention to that number too!

Some of my favorite breakfast items:

  • Steel cut oats with a dash of soy milk and stevia, and maybe a pinch of brown sugar
  • EggBeaters with Jack’s Salsa and Morningstar “sausage” patties
  • Kashi Go Lean cereal
  • Lara Bar
  • Whey Protein Powder Shake
  • Oikos Greek Yogurt with their Berry mix (pomegranate, etc.)

Lunch and dinner usually consists of a salad with lots of Romaine or mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, Red Peppers, Almonds (for crunch), cucumbers with a tablespoon or two of Newmann’s Own dressings depending if they’re low fat or not.

Water, Water, Water!

I’m drinking a minimum of about 10 glasses a day! Because of my work out schedule, I need to be consuming the number of ounces that coincide with my goal weight.

It’s Your Turn!

So that’s what I’m up to these days! How about you? What have you done healthy for yourself today? No excuses anymore! The kids are back in school and it’s your turn to take care of yourself! AND if you don’t have kids, it’s still your turn to take care of yourself! You can do it! Baby Steps… Take a 5 minute walk … Go from there!

The Warrior Dash!

This weekend, I’m doing another 5K with a group of friends. What makes this one a Warrior Dash, you ask? Well, it’s chock full of mud and obstacles, water and fire. It’s going to be the hardest I’ve ever pushed myself! But I’m looking forward to it with good friends! If you’re interested in what it is, here’s the web address: http://www.warriordash.com/register2012_minnesota_2.php

October: Monster Dash

November: Fast before the Feast – My FIRST 10K!!!

3 thoughts on “The Genetic Lottery.. PSHAH!

  1. Love! You’re doing so great!

  2. Impressive publish! STICK WITH IT!

Leave a Reply

